Let’s CELEBRATE OUR MISTAKES All the Time!

Hey ya’ll!

In this post, I offer some thoughts on shifting our mindset to welcome and embrace our mistakes as we move towards our health journey. I also share a story about my new job as a barista!

I just got a new job about a month ago as a barista! I chose this job because I really love coffee and I want to experience what it’s like to make coffee drinks for people. This is the first time in my life that I have chosen a job based on my own personal curiosity about experiencing that occupation. For me, this is an opportunity to live my life as an exploration of experience and curiosity, rather than simply finding a job for the mental security of having a paycheck.

So one day I went to work, and my boss surprised me by asking me to work the bar for the first time. In my mind, I felt so nervous because I hadn’t memorized all of the recipes yet! And I was afraid that I could mess up someone’s order! However, I decided to practice what I have been learning lately about employing a positive attitude and living my life with curiosity, and not fear. I’ve been practicing more yoga lately, too, which helps me to take a more neutral and objective perspective on my experiences and feelings. I decided that I would bring a sense of curiosity about the experience of making drinks, and that I would allow my intuition to guide the process. Inside my mind, I established the goal of simply enjoying the process of learning to make drinks. I asked myself, “What can I learn today?” And I established within myself that I was allowed to, NAY! expected to make mistakes.

These mental shifts allowed me to feel more at ease and at home within the new experience, even though it felt so unfamiliar. I was able to bring a sense of humor towards my mistakes, smile, and laugh while I learned how to correct these mistakes. And some of my customers (who watched the whole process) showed me great kindness, and laughed along with me as I corrected my own mistakes. One customer even told me that I made the best drink she’s had! WHAT???


Just like the attitude shift I am making in my new job, focusing on the mindset is the core of helping people improve health. I want to take a holistic and integrated approach that deals with our body, spirit, and mind relationship.  So here are some wisdom tid-bits that I have been learning lately about shifting our attitudes to foster success within the context of our health journeys!


Mistakes = Success!

  1. Success: Trying new actions in response to old problems (i.e. positive attitude shift, making a new drink, and trying a new exercise).
  2. Mistake: Imperfectly engaging in an unfamiliar, new action (i.e. messing up a new drink order, or falling out of a plank position too soon).
  3. Conclusion: Mistakes happen when we are trying new things. If we define success as simply trying new things, then we can embrace and celebrate our mistakes as successes in and of themselves!

    10 Powerful Mindset-Shifting Thoughts on Success:

  • We don’t have to feel paralyzed by the fear of making mistakes.
  • If we can shift our mindset to define success as simply the act of trying new things, then we get to WELCOME the experience of making mistakes! 
  • Mistakes are simply evidences of changes that we are making in our lives. This means that we are taking action and moving forward.
  • Every mistake is an opportunity to learn something new and try something different next time!
  • When we are trying to make changes in our lives, we are destined to make mistakes!
  • Give yourself permission to make mistakes! You are fully licensed, baby!
  • Give yourself a minimum quota of mistakes to make in a day! If you don’t make at least that many mistakes, are you staying in your comfort zone?
  • Celebrate when you make a mistake! Mistakes are inherently a success! Why? Because when we are making mistakes, that means we are trying new and different things.
  • Every time you try out a different response, no matter what the consequence, it is a success!
  • You will never fail if you just keep trying!

What would you add to this list? How do you view mistakes that you make on your health journey? Leave me a comment and let me know! I’d love to learn from you.


Keep loving yourselves, friends. Keep moving towards your dreams.

❤ Hanna

Stop by and follow the Intuit Fit Hanna discussion group on Facebook where we are building a community of positivity, motivation, and encouragement for those who are trying to improve their health. We’d love to hear your unique perspective from your health journey! ❤


Hanna is a blogger, yogi, foodie, barista, and a student of life. She has a background in studying psychology and counseling. Right now, she is eagerly working towards becoming a certified health coach. She will take her examination for certification in APRIL 2017! 

2 thoughts on “Let’s CELEBRATE OUR MISTAKES All the Time!

  1. “Mistakes are simply evidences of changes that we are making in our lives. This means that we are taking action and moving forward.” So awesome! I practice Brazilian Jiu Jitsu competitively and we always preach that you either win or you learn! It’s all positive! That was excellent, thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

