3 Ideas for When You Don’t Feel Like Exercising!!!

Hanna Austin Hat 2017Hello, Hello my lovely friends! I just love this pic from my Austin vacation! LOL. So lately, I have been working my butt off at my new job. I’m working in an office now, and I get home feeling flat out exhausted! I have not been exercising as much as I am used to, and I am starting to notice the effects! Yet, I still can’t seem to get my booty moving!! You feel me? Can you relate? So, I am sharing my 3 ideas that I want to try to help myself get moving more during the evenings and weekends! Please feel free to leave me a comment if you have any great tips to share on motivation and energy for exercising! 

  1. Set new goals.

Sometimes, I get bored of the same old routine, and I find myself not feeling very interested in doing yoga or getting outside for a good run. I end up avoiding exercise for a week, and then I get down on myself! I have come to realize that this means something is not working anymore, and it’s time to re-evaluate my routine, and set new goals. So here is a list of exercises to spark your imagination:

    • trail hiking! dancing! football! basketball! yoga! pilates! jazzercise! spin-class! biking! walking! check out a new park or gym! weight-lifting! swimming! kayaking! snorkeling! skating! dog-walking! cross-training! soccer! baseball! running! paddle-boarding! cart-wheeling! cutting shapes! jumping jacks! High Intensity Interval Training! stretching! surfing! beach walking! jump rope! tennis! how do you get moving?

  1. Write it out. 

I love to journal! Sometimes, I like to write about my feelings and thoughts to help me gain clarity on why I am not doing what I want myself to do! This can help us gain insight into our own patterns of actions. Here are a few questions to get you started!

  • What exercises do I wish I would have done/ would do?

  • What emotions am I feeling right now (sadness, anger, disgust, fear, shame, etc.)? Describe those feelings in detail.

  • What are my thoughts telling me?

  • What obstacles are holding me back from doing what I want?

  • What do I want more of in my life? 

  • How do I want to feel?

  • How can I get more of these feelings and activities in my life? 

   3. Get some sleep!

Sometimes I feel so fatigued that the last thing on earth I want to do is put on my workout pants and go for a run. Yet, I feel conflicted between “I should go” and “But I’m so tired!” When I feel so exhausted, I generally don’t run very long, and I tend to get moody. So instead, I will set out my running clothes , set an alarm, and take a nap.  This usually helps me refresh my energy in the middle of the day, and I wake up with a better attitude and more motivation to get outside! Napping is so good for us, too!  It’s like a brain detox! Do you take naps?

How do you recharge your motivation batteries? I would love to hear your ideas!

If you found this post helpful or interesting, please like, share, leave a comment! What about you? What helps you heal and feel good in your life? How do you practice self-care? Leave me a comment! I’d love to hear from you! 

Keep loving yourselves, friends. Keep moving towards your dreams.

❤ Hanna


Stop by and follow the Intuit Fit Hanna discussion group on Facebook where we are building a community of positivity, motivation, and encouragement for those who are trying to improve their health. We’d love to hear your unique perspective from your health journey! ❤


Hanna is a blogger, yogi, foodie, barista, and a student of life. She is pursuing her masters in counseling psychology. Hanna has finally accomplished her dream of becoming a certified ACE Health Coach and is now busy working on her plans to help people improve their healthy lifestyles. 

 

Leave a Reply

